Frank A. Bucci, Jr., MD

Doctor Details

Frank A. Bucci, Jr., MD is an internationally recognized expert in refractive and cataract surgery. He has been a pioneer in refractive surgery, having performed the first RK, AK, PRK and LASIK procedures in Wyoming Valley. He will soon have performed almost 8,000 refractive surgeries, in addition to performing almost 25,000 other microsurgical ophthalmic procedures.

Dr. Bucci has given hundreds of presentations related to his research. The following is a list of only the major ophthalmic meetings in which Dr. Bucci was an invited lecturer. He has also published over 75 articles in the peer-reviewed medical literature. His most significant contribution, freeing patients from a lifetime of bifocals, occurred with his landmark presentation on December 2, 2005 in Las Vegas. At this meeting of the Las Vegas IOL Symposium, Dr. Bucci was the first ophthalmic researcher in North America and Europe to demonstrate that mixing and matching the Multifocal implants both achieved the highest levels of spectacle independence and patient satisfaction. Dr. Bucci has been invited to share his results at world-wide ophthalmic conferences.

In 1998, Dr. Bucci founded the Bucci Cataract & Laser Vision Institute dedicated solely to correcting eye disorders through the pursuit of excellence in eye surgery. Dr. Bucci performs LASIK procedures at his LASIK Suite in the lower level of his Wilkes-Barre main office/surgery center. It houses the latest state-of-the-art LASIK technology which includes the only free standing excimer laser in Luzerne County featuring Wavescan and Intralase "Bladeless" CustomVue laser vision applications from VISX .

In 2000 Dr. Bucci founded the Angelina Theresa Bucci Eye Surgery Center, which offers the latest technology and highly trained ancillary staff. The Center is not only licensed by the PA Department of Health, but also Medicare Certified and Accredited by the AAAHC.


Doctor Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
94%
Courteous Staff
94%
Ease of Appointment
92%
Spends Time with Me
92%
Would Recommend to Others?
100%
Doctor Details
Primary Specialty
LASIK
Title
Ophthalmologist (MD)
Andy Searfoss
23 out of 58 people found this review helpful
Summary: Catacts Laser Cornea Transplants
February 7th, 2018
I have had quite a lot done to both my eyes. The last was a cataract removal on the right eye. Dr. Bucci and his staff are always professional and caring. Dr. Bucci is very knowledgeable. The vision in my right eye is now outstanding.
In a month or so we will work on the left eye. My only complaint is sometimes your wiat is long past your appointment time.
As far as caring and professional staff and Dr. I don't think you find better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Valerie Olszewski
20 out of 55 people found this review helpful
Summary: Cataract surgery/multifocal implant
December 29th, 2017
Dr. Bucci performed LASIK surgery on both my eyes in 1999. Except for a few lapses, I have been going to him ever since. He did my first cataract surgery with a lens implant for near vision in my right eye on 8/01/07 and cataract surgery with a multifocal lens implant in my left eye on12/27/17. [The length of time between the 2 cataract surgeries is all my fault … not Dr.Bucci’s.] My depth of perception, near and distant vision, has improved tremendously - so much so that I was able to do be a reader at 7 am Mass this morning - just 2 days after my surgery ????❤️. Needless to say I am very pleased with every surgery he has ever done on my eyes. Thank you to Dr. Bucci and his wonderful staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Susan Schintz
68 out of 168 people found this review helpful
Summary: cataract surgery/lasik316
October 5th, 2016
I HAD SEVERAL PROCEDURES DONE BY DR BUCCI HE WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL AND THOROUGH HE EXPLAINED ALL STEPS THAT NEEDED TO BE DONE I AM VERY PLEASED WITH MY RESULTS I CAN SEE UP CLOSE AND FAR AWAY. I HAVE RECOMMENDED HIM TO A FEW FRIENDS & FAMILY MEMBERS ALL ARE SATISFIED WITH THEIR RESULTS.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Guest
75 out of 187 people found this review helpful
Summary: eye surgery
October 5th, 2016
I had a few procedures done by Dr.Bucci he explained what needed to be done step by step. I am thrilled with my results no glasses can see up close and far away. I have recommended him to many people who are considering eye surgey and they have also been pleased.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Guest
73 out of 167 people found this review helpful
Summary: I can finally see!!!
October 4th, 2016
I had lasik surgery by Dr. Bucci and it was great. The staff, along with Dr. Bucci, was wonderful. I could see 20/20 the next day. Lasik was the best decision I ever made!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Anita Haering
84 out of 172 people found this review helpful
Summary: Thank you Dr. Bucci
August 20th, 2016
I had my 1st eye done May 18, 2016 and could not wait for my second one which I escalated to just 2 weeks later. So far I have 20/20 on both eyes.
No complaints here. Yes it wasn't cheap but considering that I spent at least between $600 and $700 every two years over a long span of time I now think Dr. Bucci was a bargain. I enjoy only wearing cheap sunglasses instead of expensive glasses. Again great job Dr. Bucci will always recommend your office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Dane DeLong
66 out of 176 people found this review helpful
Summary: Outstanding
July 26th, 2016
After being diagnosed with cataracts in both eyes I did research on local options and elected to go to Dr. Bucci. I was very impressed with both Dr. Bucci and his staff during my initial consultation and decided to schedule multifocal implants. The operation was very easy and I can't say enough about the treatment I received from everyone at Bucci Laser Vision. I am a 70 year old man and I never thought it would be possible for me to be glasses free but am happy to report I have not worn glasses since having the second eye done. My near vision is excellent and my intermediate vision is very good. My distance vision is acceptable. I can see clearly to watch TV, read a book, or work on my Laptop. I play golf without glasses also but sometimes have a problem following my ball on long distance shots. I am going in for another procedure the middle of September which Dr. Bucci believes with even further improve my overall vision. In addition to being a very nice individual, Dr. Bucci is a seasoned professional with excellent skills in his field. I highly recommend him to anyone considering cataract surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Nina Skrypak
115 out of 264 people found this review helpful
Summary: Best results ever!
June 28th, 2016
Dr. Bucci put me at easy right away. From my first Appointment until the final surgery. Driving at night always was a problem for me, the on coming headlights from cars hurt my eyes. Now I can drive at night without worry. I also can see clear when I draw, and see the beautiful world around me. I will recommend to all my friends and family to go to Dr, Frank A Bucci. He is the best.
Thank you so much!
Nina Skrypak
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Charley Day
138 out of 290 people found this review helpful
Summary: Talk about EXPERIENCE!
March 23rd, 2016
Whatever else one might say, "you have been around the block!!"

It was a delight to meet you and talk with you - of course, it was important to talk about my eye surgery and your role, but the conversation about other matters of shared interest had the effect of feeling that we were three (my wife, Ginny was there talking and making notes) human beings who were being transparent and genuinely interested in one another at that moment, paying attention and making appropriate responses.

That's what a human encounter is supposed to be and it was reassuring to know that on the day of my surgery you would be ready, willing and able to make such adjustments as were needed.

The results are there to 'see'! Thanks, Doc!

Charley
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Lew Grant
115 out of 270 people found this review helpful
Summary: Life Change
January 21st, 2016

For the first time since the second grade, 1954, I have better than 20/20 vision in both eyes without glasses. At 2 feet away, I can read text just fine. At night, lights don’t blind me.
The fun things like being able to look down and read the digital readout of my weight without having to find my glasses first. Unfortunately, it didn’t make me weight less. Putting on a pull over without stopping to take my glasses off half way through the process.
Some things to consider, you will see very clearly. Your favorite television personality will have facial defects. You will see yourself differently when you look in the mirror. You will no longer use glasses as a sign of intelligence.
Don’t wait to have this done until your vision is so bad you can’t drive or you have headaches from eye strain. Glasses can only help so much. You don’t have to wait until the contracts have “matured, hardened or whatever the phase.” The procedure can be done when you are ready and the results for me were really good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Eleanor Lee
148 out of 333 people found this review helpful
Summary: WIZARD !
November 20th, 2015
Been wearing bi-focals for years but needed cataract surgery. Dr BUCCI implanted lenses during me operation and I no longer need bi- focals! Surgery painless , rapid, no after effects, staff are professional , warm and caring ! Would recommend Dr BUCCI !
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Deborah Kishbaugh
166 out of 378 people found this review helpful
Summary: Deborah Kishbaugh's Comments
August 12th, 2015
So glad I had my cataract surgery done by Dr. Bucci. He is an excellent eye doctor and surgeon. My distance vision is so much better now and the surgery went well. Everyone was wonderful, explaining what was being done every step of the way. It was fast and painless without any problems afterward. I would highly recommend Dr. Bucci to anyone who needed eye surgery. He was a great choice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
sara
180 out of 445 people found this review helpful
Summary: sara
August 1st, 2015
when you undergo cataract surgery, where does the oxygen go?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Janice Johnston
210 out of 532 people found this review helpful
Summary: eye surgery
July 23rd, 2015
i was very please with how every thing was explain to me. i am so excited about how well I can see but most of all it was such a smooth surgery and time went by so quickly. thank you for all your care and your follow up phone calls
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Coby W
234 out of 475 people found this review helpful
Summary: Highly recommended
March 26th, 2014
Dr. Bucci has been my eye doctor for over 7 years and has performed numerous procedures each one successful in my opinion. His staff is always professional. He is always upfront and honest and is very knowledgeable as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes