Thomas M Chester OD FAAO

Doctor Details
Thomas M. Chester, O.D., F.A.A.O

Interesting Facts
Over the past few years, Dr. Chester has dedicated much of his time to leadership and the community, ophthalmic research and continuing education among his peers.
In his spare time, Dr. Chester enjoys soccer, gardening and spending time with his wife, children and church family.
Presentations
Glaucoma & Dry Eye
Dry Eye & Patient Management
Cataract Patient Management
Wavefront Technology Meets Cataract Surgery
Identifying the Ideal LASIK Candidate, Wavefront Technology Seminar
Education
Mount Vernon Nazarene College
Mount Vernon, Ohio, 1992
The Ohio State University College of Optometry, Columbus, Ohio,
Doctor of Optometry, 1996
Honors
President, OSU College of Optometry Class of 1996
President, Fellowship of Christian Optometrists, 1993-1995
Wesley-Jessen Academic Excellence Award, 1996
Bausch & Lomb Practice Initiation Award, 1996
Optometric Residency
Cleveland Eye Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio 1996 - 1997
Professional Societies
American Academy of Optometry, Fellow
American Optometric Association, 1993
Ohio Optometric Association, 1993
Society for Excellence in EyeCare, 2001
Ohio Diabetes Task Force, 2002
Fellowship of Christian Optometrists, 1992
Optometric Refractive Surgery Society, 1996
American Optometric Association (Contact Lens Section), 1993 - 1996
Doctor Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
100%
Courteous Staff
100%
Ease of Appointment
98%
Spends Time with Me
100%
Would Recommend to Others?
100%
Doctor Details
Primary Specialty
Glaucoma
Secondary Specialty
Cataracts
Title
Optometrist (OD)
Lori Hill
20 out of 49 people found this review helpful
Summary: The best of the best !!
March 21st, 2017
I was referred to Dr. Chester for a problem with my cornea. I cannot express enough how impressed I was and continue to be every time I see him. My situation was beyond a little difficult, but he and Jill, his amazing assistant have gone above and beyond to help me with continuing success. He doesn't just stop when things get difficult. It seems to fuel his drive for solutions. He and Jill have made me feel like more than just a patient. I am always comfortable and never feel like I am being a problem patient, even though my medical issue is stubborn and persistent. I know that they will help me with whatever I need anytime, and just knowing this is a great comfort.
I wish that more medical professionals would take such pride in their work and patient relationships. He and Jill are a stellar team, and I am lucky to have them treating me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
SHARON/SHERRI NOVAK
23 out of 56 people found this review helpful
Summary: Great doctor
March 4th, 2017
I have been seeing Dr. Chester for more that years than I can count.

He is exceptional and has helped me with multiple eye problems.

I would not go to any other eye specialist unless D. Chester refers me
to one for a problem he cannot help me with.

I highly recommend Dr. Chester's professionalism, attentiveness,
and personality. He is always happy and treat me with great respect.

Sharon "sherri" Novak
3-3-2017


Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Janet Gelsinger
27 out of 74 people found this review helpful
Summary: The Best
October 24th, 2016
I am so grateful that my friend referred me to Dr. Chester. His professional knowledge and mannerisms are outstanding. This Doc knows his stuff- his diagnosis and recommendations were right on the money! He and his staff are not only knowledgeable but fun also. Their professionalism and timeliness shine through. Karen and Laurie make the reception area welcoming and fun. I've already recommended Dr's. Chester and Wiley to many of my friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Randall
53 out of 105 people found this review helpful
Summary: First Time at ClevelandEyeClinic
August 8th, 2016
I'm a new patient with Dr. Chester and I would like to say that him and his entire staff were warm, friendly and very professional. Kathy was great to chat with while getting my additional information while I was waiting for Dr. Chester. You could really tell that she loves her job and those are frankly the best people to work with regardless of whether or not I'm a patient or a co-worker. As for Dr. Chester himself he was very on point and I was in and out of the clinic in a flash. I am looking forward to my next visit as well as my new glasses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
George Ketvertis
81 out of 159 people found this review helpful
Summary: Professional
April 28th, 2016
Dr. Chester and his support team are truly exceptional. They are very caring and thoughtful in everything they do. I am being treated for follow up cataract care. I had interviewed a number of other providers before selecting the Cleveland Eye Clinic. I couldn't be more pleased that I decided on them. I would highly reccomend them for cataract surgery as well as regular eye care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
M. Johnson
152 out of 322 people found this review helpful
Summary: optometrist
October 15th, 2015
I had an appointment on October 1, 2015 and Dr. Chester was very through and professional. His staff under him were very professional and caring. Michelle and Kathy at the front desk were very polite and courteous. The whole staff that attended to me showed love which patients need. They made my visit relaxing. They were doing it from their hearts and not just because it was their job. I thank Dr. Chester Thomas and his staff for all their concern and patience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
delores hargrove
181 out of 380 people found this review helpful
Summary: Dr.Chester and the Cleveland Eye Clinic
May 22nd, 2015
I have been going to Dr. Chester for more than 10 years now. I am monitored routinely for glaucoma and a recurring eye infection He is and has always been very professional. When needed, he has referred me to other specialists. The office staff at the locations I have been to are wonderful and show extreme courtesy to the patients. I highly recommend the Cleveland Eye Clinic to people who need an eye doctor, or even eye care in general. I hope and pray that they continue to do the good work that they do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Kathryn Foster
198 out of 400 people found this review helpful
Summary: Dr. Chester really warms my Mom's heart
March 18th, 2015
My mother visits the Clinic twice annually. She won't miss her appointment with Dr. Chester. In fact, this past appointment she reminded me she had an appointment a whole month in advance. His care and concern for her total eye health has made her feel so comfortable that she actually looks forward to going every time around. In contrast to most of her other doctors, she does not want or like to go. Even with her consent, I have had to cancel some appointments the morning she was scheduled. Or if she decides to go ahead, her blood pressure literally rises beyond what is normal for her. Dr. Chester performed my mother's eye surgery and now follow-up care. My hat's off to any doctor who has that kind of internal customer satisfaction management style. I just wish he could become a 360 degree doctor then I would know that my mother would go to all her appointments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes