Heather R Cook OD

Doctor Details
General Optometry


“I like my work because I know I am helping people. Anytime you’re changing someone’s outlook on life, you feel good about what you’ve done that day.”

Dr. Cook joined EHNW right after graduating from optometry school in 1997. She is thankful to be part of such a wonderful group. “We have great staff and great doctors, and it makes coming to work easy and enjoyable.” Her practice encompasses routine eye care, contact lens fits and medical eye care, including disease and infection.

Dr. Cook provides thoughtful and compassionate care. This is evidenced in her exceptional patience and thoroughness. “I make sure to get down to the root of the problem with my patients by spending my time carefully listening.” She understands that patients are best served when there is open communication between the doctor and patient. She listens first, then collaborates with her patient to determine the best course of treatment.

She has a good rapport with her patients who appreciate her personableness. “I really look forward to seeing my patients because I have developed long-term relationships with many of them. I appreciate learning about their families and really getting to know them as people.”

Dr. Cook has many stories of parents bringing in their young children because of a concern with poor eyesight. Usually, the children have no idea there is anything wrong. After they get glasses, they can suddenly see all types of details they never new existed, like individual leaves on trees. “The children get a ‘wow factor’ with these amazed looks on their faces. When I see that, it’s a good day’s work.”

Dr. Cook  met her husband, Dr. Rory Cook, in 1993 while they were both in optometry school. They have three children. “I try to be my best because of them. They are my inspiration.” Riley, Emma and Scarlett  keep her very busy on her off days. Fortunately, she has a lot of energy and is an excellent multi-tasker. They like outings to the park and zoo, and she volunteers at the children’s school. Outside of working and parenting, Dr. Cook enjoys cooking, entertaining and gardening. She also likes sewing and her projects range from Halloween costumes to curtains and pillows.



DR. COOK'S EDUCATION:
BORN:     December 22, 1971
Carmel, CA
BUSINESS ADDRESS:     EyeHealth Northwest
1955 N.W. Northrup
Portland, OR 97209
(503) 227-2020 (Phone)
(503) 222-0614 (Fax)
15405 S.W. 116th, Suite #204
King City, OR 97224
(503) 620-4070 (Phone)
(503) 598-9661 (Fax)

9555 SW Barnes Rd., Suite #201
Portland, OR 97225
(503) 296-9933 (Phone)
(503) 296-9934 (Fax)

E-MAIL:    
EDUCATION
Undergraduate:     University of San Diego
San Diego, CA
September 1989 - June 1993, Degree: BA
Optometry School:     Pacific University College of Optometry
Forest Grove, OR
August 1993 - June 1997, Degree: OD
Honors:     Bausch and Lomb Practice Initiation Award
Pacific University College of Optometry Dean’s Award
Beta Sigma Kappa Optometric Honor Society
Thesis:    “Practitioner Satisfaction Survey on the Influence of Managed Care in Optometry”
Professional Training:     Pacific University Family Vision Centers
Portland, OR
1995 - 1996, INTERN (Primary Care Optometry)
American Lake Veterans Hospital
Tacoma, WA
1996, INTERN (Optometry and Low Vision)

LICENSURE:     Oregon Board of Optometry, 2628 T DPA & TPA, 1997
License, Treatment and Management of Ocular Disease, 1996
PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS:     American Optometric Association
Oregon Optometric Assoiciation
Portland Metro Optometric Society
PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE:     Private Practice, EyeHealth Northwest
Optometrist, September 1997 - Present
Ophthalmic Technician, 1997
Optometric Teaching Assistant
Pacific University College of Optometry
1994 - 1996
Assistant Professor    Vitreoretinal Diseases and Surgery
Department of Ophthalmology
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
September 2009 to Present
Instructor    Department of Ophthalmology
Oregon Health and Science University
Casey Eye Institute/Devers Eye Institute
Portland, OR
2007 – Present
Chief Resident and Instructor    Department of Ophthalmology
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
2006 - 2007
OTHER INFORMATION

Honors/Awards    Golden Key National Honor Society,1997
University of California
Los Angeles, CA

Phi Beta Kappa, 1998
University of California
Los Angeles, CA

Department of Microbiology Section Honors,1998
University of California
Los Angeles, CA

President’s Undergraduate Fellowship for Research, 1998
University of California
Los Angeles, CA

Provost’s Honor List, 1998
University of California
Los Angeles, CA

Outstanding Project and Presentation, 2000
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Hanus Scholarship, 2002
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Alpha Omega Alpha, 2002
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Award for Teaching Excellence, 2006, 2007
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Travel Grant, 2008
Association for Research in Ophthalmology

Annenberg Center Mentoring in Ophthalmology, 2008
Research Program

BOARD CERTIFICATION:    American Board of Ophthalmology, Diplomate, 2008

LICENSURE:    Oregon: MD27367
Texas: N3546
RESEARCH INFORMATION

Support    1.) Age-related Eye Disease Study 2 (AREDS2). Multicenter randomized trial.
National Eye Institute
Sub-Investigator
2007 - 2009
Contract

2.) A Retrospective Chart Review of Patients with Neovascular Age-Related
Macular Degeneration Treated with Intravitreal Anti-VEGF Therapy and Time to Remission.
Sub-Investigator
2007 - 2009

3.) Validation of the Molecular Test for Predicting Metastasis in Patients with Uveal Melanoma.
Sub-Investigator
2007 - 2009

4.) Evaluation of Efficacy and Safety of Posterior Juxtascleral Administration of Anecortave Acetate for Depot Suspension (15 mg or 30 mg) versus Sham Administration in Patients (Enrolled in Study “A” or Study “B”) at Risk for Developing Sight-Threatening Choroidal Neovascularization (CNV) Due to Exudative Age-Related Macular Degeneration (AMD).
Alcon - #C-02-60
Sub-Investigator
2007 - 2009
Contract

5.) The Effect of Genotype and Environmental Risk Factors on Treatment Response to Intravitreal Lucentis (Ranibizumab) for Neovascular AMD, Phase IV Clinical Trial Genentech
Sub-Investigator
2007 - 2009
Contract

6.) Phase II Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Masked, Placebo-Controlled, Dose-Comparison Study of the Safety and Efficacy of Fenretinide in the Treatment of Geographic Atrophy in Subjects with Age-Related Macular Degeneration.
Serion Therapeutics
Sub-Investigator
2007 - 2009
Contract

7.) Phase II Multicenter, Randomized Study of the Efficacy of Ciliary Neurotrophic Factor (CNTF) Delivered via Encapsulated Cell Technology (ECT) Product for the Treatment of Visual Loss Associated with Retinitis Pigmentosa.
National Eye Institute
Sub-Investigator
2007 - 2009
Contract

National Scientific Participation    Peer Reviewer – Journals

Eye, 2009- Present
Ophthalmology. 2007 - Present
Retina, 2007 – Present
Journal of the American Association of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, 2009-present

PROFESSIONAL SOCIETIES:    American Academy of Ophthalmology
American Medical Association
American Society of Retina Specialists
Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology
Houston Ophthalmologic Society
Oregon Academy of Ophthalmology
Texas Ophthalmologic Society

INVITED LECTURES,
PRESENTATIONS,
RESEARCH SEMINARS
Flaxel CJ, Chan-Kai B. Inferior Exudates in Central Serous Chorioretinopathy. World Ophthalmology Congress, Hong Kong, July 2008

Witherspoon SR, Chan-Kai B, Flaxel C. Shooting Baskets in the Wrong Hoop. The Retina Society, Scottsdale, Arizona, September 2008.

Yeh S, Forooghian F, Weichel ED, Wong WT, Faja LJ, Chan-Kai B, Witherspoon SR, Lauer AK, Chew EY, Nussenblatt RB. Fundus Autofluorescence Imaging in the Evaluation of Cytomegalovirus Retinitis. American Society of Retina Specialists, Maui, Hawaii, October 2008

Witherspoon SR, Chan-Kai BT, Weleber R, Watzke R, Lauer AK. Atypical Acute Retinal Pigment Epithelitis (Fluorescein Angiography). American Society of Retina Specialists, Maui, Hawaii, October 2008.

Chan-Kai BT, Witherspoon SR, Weleber RG, Lauer AK. Electroretinographic Findings and Autoretinal Antibodies in Transplant Chorioretinopathy. American Society of Retina Specialists, Maui, Hawaii, October 2008.

Chan-Kai BT. Management of Cystoid Macular Edema: Macular Edema in Hereditary Retinal Disorders. American Academy of Ophthalmology, Atlanta, Georgia. November 2008.

Chan-Kai BT. Ophthalmic Anatomy for the Retinal Technician. Joint Commision on Allied Health Personnel Annual Meeting, Atlanta, Georgia. Novermber 2008.

Simmons-Rear A, Yeh S, Chan-Kai BT, Lauer AK, Flaxel CJ, Smith JR, Rosenbaum JT, Suhler E. Characterization of Serous Retinal Detachments in Uveitis Patients with Optical Coherence Tomography. The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, May 2009.

Chan-Kai BT. Update on Management and Treatment of Intraocular Lymphoma. Cullen Course, Baylor College of Medicine. Houston, Texas. Feb 2010

Chan-Kai BT. DRCR Trials-How Have They Impacted Macular Edema Treatment. Cullen Course, Baylor College of Medicine. Houston, Texas. Feb 2010

Chan-Kai BT. Leukocoria: Retinal Considerations. Cullen Course, Baylor College of Medicine. Houston, Texas. Feb 2011

Chan-Kai BT. Intermediate Uveitis. Cullen Course, Baylor College of Medicine. Houston, Texas. Feb 2011

Chan-Kai BT. Pigmented Choroidal Lesions: What You Need to Know. Cullen Course, Baylor College of Medicine. Houston, Texas. Feb 2011

PUBLICATIONS    Full Papers

Published – Peer Reviewed Journals:

Chan-Kai BT, Yen MT. Combined positron emission tomography/computed tomography imaging of orbital lymphoma. Am J Ophthalmol 2005; 140:531-533.

Chan-Kai BT, Yen MT. Lower eyelid entropion in Langer-Giedion syndrome. Ophthal Plast Reconstr Surg 2006; 22:59-60.

Lakhanpal RR, Fortun JA, Chan-Kai B, Holz ER. Vitrectomy and lensectomy with and without intravitreal triamcinolone acetonide for vascularly active stage 5 retinal detachments in retinopathy of prematurity. Retina 2006; 26:736-740.

Foroozan R, Chan-Kai B, Marx DP. Dilated conjunctival vessels in a patient undergoing epoprostenol therapy. Clinical & Experimental Ophthalmology 2007; 35:877-878.

Yang S, Borirakchanyavat S, Chan-Kai BT, Stout JT, Fu AD. Diagnostic and therapeutic challenges. Retina 2009; 29:708-714.

Chan-Kai BT, Lauer AK. Transconjunctival, sutureless 25-gauge lens sparing vitrectomy for stage 4 retinopathy of prematurity-related retinal detachments. Retina 2009; 29:854-859.

Yeh S, Forooghian F, Faia LJ, Weichel ED, Wong WT, Sen HN, Chan-Kai BT, Witherspoon SR, Lauer AK, Chew EY, Nussenblatt RB. HYPERLINK"http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19996825"Fundus autofluorescence changes in cytomegalovirus retinitis. Retina. 2010 Jan;30(1):42-50.

ACCORD Study Group.
"http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.ezproxyhost.library.tmc.edu/pubmed/20587587"Effects of medical therapies on retinopathy progression in type 2 diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2010 Jul 15;363(3):233-44. Epub 2010 Jun 29.

Chan-Kai BT, Yeh S, Witherspoon SR, Francis PJ, Weleber RG, Lauer AK. Electoretinographic Findings in Transplant Chorioretinopathy. Clinical Ophthalmology. 2010 Jul 30; 4:777-83

Non Peer-Reviewed Journals

Chan-Kai BT. Macular Degeneration. Houston Medical Journal. Feb 2010.

Abstracts (last 3 years)

Chan-Kai BT, Carvounis PE, Manzano RP, Fortun JA, Kim HH, Albini TA, Kopel AC, Holz ER. Factors influencing visual outcomes following treatment for retinal pigment epithelium detachments associated with age-related macular degeneration. Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science 2007; 48:E-Abstract 3390.

Carvounis PE, Kim HH, Manzano RP, Fortun JA, Chan-Kai BT, Albini TA, Holz ER. Anatomical outcomes following treatment for retinal pigment epithelium detachment associated with age-related macular degeneration. Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science 2007; 48:E-Abstract 1802.

Chan-Kai BT, Lauer AK. Sutureless, transconjunctival 25-gauge vitrectomy for stage 4A retinopathy of prematurity related retinal detachments. Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science, 2008; 49:E-Abstract

Chan-Kai BT, Yeh S, Smith JR, Flaxel CJ, Lauer AK, Rosenbaum JT, Suhler EB. Correlation of visual acuity and optical coherence tomography findings in patients with birdshot chorioretinopathy. Investigative Ophthalmology & Visual Science 2009; 50:E-Abstract

TEACHING INFORMATION
Didactic Course Work

Courses Taught at Baylor College of Medicine

Ophthalmology Department:

Fluorescein Angiography Conference, 10 – 20 hours per year
Ophthalmology resident lectures: Vitreoretinal diseases and surgery, 10 – 15 hours per year.
Cullen Course, Continuing education topics in vitreoretinal diseases and surgery, 1 – 2 hours per year

Non-didactic Teaching at Baylor College of Medicine

Resident Training
Clinical: Resident instruction in vitreoretinal diseases and surgery, 20-30 hours per week
Clinical: Staffing of resident clinic and surgery at Ben Taub General Hospital, 4-6 hours per week
Clinical: Staffing of resident clinic and surgery at Michael E. DeBakey Veterans’ Administration Medical Center, 4-6 hours per week

Clinical Fellow Training
Andrew J. Barkmeier, M.D., Houston, Texas, 2009-2010
Golnaz Javey, M.D., Houston, Texas, 2009-Present
Usha Pinninti, M.D., Houston, Texas, 2010-Present

Clinical: Mentorship – 20 hours per week

Research Fellow Training

Andrew J. Barkmeier, M.D., Houston, Texas, 2009-Present
Golnaz Javey, M.D., Houston, Texas, 2009-Present
Research: Mentorship – 4 to 5 hours per week

Medical Student Mentoring

LECTURES    

National

Overcoming Macular Degeneration. Fox Houston Morning News. May 2010.
Retinitis Pigmentosa-Current and Future Treatements. Foundation for Fighting Blindness. Houston, Texas. March 2009.
Sutureless, transconjunctival 25-gauge vitrectomy for stage 4A retinopathy of prematurity related retinal detachments. Casey Eye Institute. Portland, Oregon, 2008

Local

Autoimmune and Paraneoplastic Retinopathy. Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, September 2009
Intraocular lymphoma. Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, September 2009
Factors influencing visual outcomes following treatment for retinal pigment epithelium detachments associated with age-related macular degeneration. Baylor Ophthalmology Alumni Association Day, Houston, Texas, June 2007
Variations in central corneal thickness with changes in intraocular pressure, pilot study. Baylor Ophthalmology Alumni Association Day, Houston, Texas, June 2006.
Update on the treatment of ocular cicatricial pemphigold. Cornea Conference, Department of Ophthalmology, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, 2005.


Doctor Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
100%
Courteous Staff
20%
Ease of Appointment
100%
Spends Time with Me
100%
Would Recommend to Others?
100%
Doctor Details
Primary Specialty
General
Title
Optometrist (OD)
Ann Wylie
239 out of 474 people found this review helpful
Summary: Great doctor, weird staff communications
October 23rd, 2014
I pay for my eye doctor exams out of pocket, and when I visited Dr. Cook last week, one of the staff members at the front desk let me know that I'd need to pay $100 when I left. But when I checked out, her front-desk colleague said I was good to go.

I got a follow-up call saying I needed to pay, so I asked my assistant to call. The front desk said to just wait for a bill.

I got ANOTHER call saying if we waited for a bill, we'd have to pay more (!) That's right: The practice's mistake was at our expense! Niiiiiiiiiice!

Of course, no humans answer the phone at this practice, so I had no luck reaching the front office staff member who called, despite repeated tries. I run a business and travel for a living so ... tick tock ... all of these repeated calls could have been billable hours. My assistant finally got through and was told that if we didn't pay RIGHT THEN, we'd have to pay more.

Dr. Cook is a great doctor, but we're feeling abused by 1) the idea that I owe extra because the staff wasn't ready to bill me when I left and 2) the fact that it is impossible to reach a real human being by phone at this practice, and that other options (besides social media) are not made available.

In fact, if I could reach someone, I would be having this conversation privately, instead of communicating with the practice via this website.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes