Howard Weiss MD

Doctor Details
Dr. Weiss is a highly skilled glaucoma and cataract surgeon. His colleagues consult him regularly for his expertise in surgery and laser treatment; more than 50% of his patients are referred to him by other physicians. Among his patients are other doctors, including other ophthalmologists who perform cataract and glaucoma surgery. He has repeatedly been an invited instructor at cataract surgery courses offered by the American Academy of Ophthalmology for continuing education of practicing ophthalmologists. His expertise with all aspects of cataract surgery, including astigmatic and multifocal lens implants (e.g. Restor, Crystalens, Tecnis, and Rezoom) as well as with bladeless femtosecond laser-assisted cataract surgery, has provided improved vision and freedom from eyeglasses for many of his cataract patients.
Dr. Weiss has pioneered two surgical procedures to treat elevated eye pressure: one for implanting a drainage tube to treat advanced glaucoma, and another to reduce eye pressure without entering the eye, so that his patients may have a safer, quicker and more comfortable recovery. His practice encompasses all of general ophthalmology and is complemented by teaching at Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Georgetown University, and the Washington Hospital Center and by his involvement with two research studies sponsored by the National Eye Institute of the National Institutes of Health.

Education
    •    Harvard University, Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary, Boston, MA
Fellowship in Glaucoma
    •    Tufts-New England Medical Center, Boston, MA
Ophthalmology Residency, Chief Resident
    •    Harvard University, Boston, MA
Master of Public Health
    •    Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA M.D.
    •    Yale University, New Haven, CT
S.B., Magna Cum Laude
 
Academic Appointments and Affiliations
    •    Walter Reed Army Medical Center
Consultant in Glaucoma
    •    Georgetown University Medical Center
Clinical Associate Professor
    •    Washington Hospital Center
Glaucoma Review Board Senior Attending Surgeon
    •    American Academy of Ophthalmology
Fellow; Honors Award
    •    American Glaucoma Society
Member
    •    Washington Academy of Ophthalmology
Member
 
Certifications
    •    American Board of Ophthalmology
 
Publications and Lectures
    •    Twenty publications in peer-reviewed literature
1985 - present
    •    Eighty lectures at academic institutions
1988- present
 
Practice Leadership
    •    Washington Eye Physicians & Surgeons, Chevy Chase, MD,
President & Managing Partner 2009-present
    •    The Eye Surgery Center, Silver Spring, MD,
Medical Director, 2007-present
Recognition
    •    Washingtonian Magazine Top Docs
    •    National Guide of America's Top Ophthalmologists
    •    Washington DC-Baltimore-Northern VA Super Doctor's Guide
Doctor Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
100%
Courteous Staff
100%
Ease of Appointment
100%
Spends Time with Me
100%
Would Recommend to Others?
100%
Doctor Details
Board Certified
Yes
Primary Specialty
Glaucoma
Secondary Specialty
Cataracts
Title
Ophthalmologist (MD)
Beverly St. Clair
17 out of 43 people found this review helpful
Summary: Howard Weiss
January 21st, 2017
I recently had cataract surgery on both eyes and my vision for distance was restored to 20/20 in both eyes. My experience with Dr. Weiss, his office and the surgery clinic was excellent. He and his staff are professional, competent, and caring. I felt at ease during the entire process. His office and the surgery clinic provided excellent care. Every aspect of my experience was the very best. They explained everything clearly and the follow-up was amazing. I highly recommend Dr. Weiss.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Eleanor Dore
23 out of 48 people found this review helpful
Summary: Smooth, Painless Procedure
January 9th, 2017
Dr. Weiss operated on my eye for cataract removal, and from beginning to end, with his excellent staff, I was treated with kindness and patience. Their professionalism was perfect, and
I had clear and brilliant vision the day after
surgery. Dr. Weiss inspires confidence, and
performs accordingly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Tim Hawk
23 out of 56 people found this review helpful
Summary: Excellent Doctor
December 3rd, 2016
My experience with Dr. Weiss was very positive. He was very patient, knowledgeable, and polite as well as having extensive experience in visual conditions and surgery. He called me after the surgery to check on me and gave me his cell # in case I had any questions. He did an excellent job for me and I would highly recommend him to anyone needing this type of treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Andria Doye
27 out of 75 people found this review helpful
Summary: Excellent Surgeon
November 29th, 2016
Dr. Weiss is a very caring surgeon.
I had surgery in September and November for the removal of cataracts. Each time Dr. Weiss explained everything in detail and followed up by phone once the surgery was completed. He is a very competent and thorough individual and appreciates his patients. I would recommend Dr. Weiss anytime. I now have 20/20 vision and only need magnifying glasses for reading small print. Thank you Dr. Weiss for being such a patient and excellent individual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Marilyn
24 out of 54 people found this review helpful
Summary: Excellent surgeon
November 18th, 2016
Dr. Weiss performed cataract surgery on both eyes. He was thorough, reassuring and never made me feel any question was superfluous. The results are well beyond my expectations. I no longer need glasses for distance or reading. I no longer have eye strain or headaches. He has my highest recommendation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Tom Segal
23 out of 58 people found this review helpful
Summary: Outstanding Eye Doctor
November 13th, 2016
I highly recommend Dr. Weiss. He did cataract surgery on both of my eyes, and I am very pleased with the results. In addition to the excellent results of the surgery, I was also impressed with Dr. Weiss' friendly, professional manner and his thoroughness in examining my eyes. I had lots of questions, and he patiently answered them. I have never felt rushed during my office visits with him. I have also been impressed with the technicians and other office staff. They have been friendly and courteous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
David Finkelstein
67 out of 132 people found this review helpful
Summary: Outstanding cataract surgeon
July 7th, 2016
He clearly explained all options. Was not "quick to cut" Ony first visit he suggested that I defer the surgery because "I didn't complain enough".
I never thought I would ever say that I enjoyed surgery, but it was really fun! No pain or discomfort.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
linda greensfelder
84 out of 163 people found this review helpful
Summary: Cataract removal
May 18th, 2016
Dr. Weiss is a personable, caring physician who takes time to explain procedures and options. I have astigmatism and he recommended a Toric intraocular lens. The surgical center he uses in well staffed and comfortable. The surgery went well and today I learned my far vision is now 20/20 in both eyes. I must still use glasses for near vision. I have been wearing my husband's pair that he picked up at Costco for a couple of bucks. Weiss makes a point of assuring his patients that they can call him at any time. He also checked in with me via phone the first night after operating on each eye.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Susan Bell
93 out of 197 people found this review helpful
Summary: Excellent Eye doctor
May 15th, 2016
I've seen Dr. Weiss for my cataract and found both he and his practice at Washington Eye Physicians and Surgeons to be excellent--careful, courteous and highly skilled. he made the process of getting the cataract removed easy, and was very responsive to every question. I could not have asked for better care, and I have no doubt that if things had not been as smooth, that he and the staff would have worked with me every step of the way to recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Frans J Kok
77 out of 176 people found this review helpful
Summary: New vision!
May 7th, 2016
Dr. Weiss diagnosed my cataracts late 2013. Early 2014 he performed surgery on both my eyes about 14 days apart. The surgery was a non event for me as the patient. After the first eye had been treated I walked outside and was almost overwhelmed by the difference in perception between my treated right eye and my yet to be treated left eye. The colors where so much brighter, more like a 4K modern television rather than an old RCA boob tube of the 1960s. Fourteen days later Dr. Weiss treated my left eye and the result was the same. I have not seen this well since I was 7 years old (I am 73 now) when I first needed glasses. He also corrected my astigmatism. I now have 20/20 in both eyes and can sail our yacht in fog without having to wipe my glasses and I can ski without having to fear the dreaded frosted glasses which are impossible to clean without stopping to clean my glasses in the lodge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes
Michelle Slagle
202 out of 428 people found this review helpful
Summary: I can see
August 16th, 2014
I was diagnosed with cataracts at age 42 and I spent 10 years fretting over the impending surgery. Heard nightmare stories from people. I knew that I was 10-15 years younger than the average person having this surgery and felt I had to take time finding the right surgeon that would understand that. My optometrist recommended Washington Eye Physicians & Surgeons. I read thru the doctors bios and selected Dr Weiss, his profile and bio resonated with me. I knew upon meeting Dr Weiss in the first appointment, he was the right doctor for me, very confident, articulate and detailed. While this is a routine procedure, it's still your eyes and you want someone you can trust. I had my eye surgeries, left and right on May 27th and June 2nd and it was such an awesome experience! The staff were friendly, the pre-op, surgery and post op processes were excellent! Above all, Dr Weiss was Superb! He took time to evaluate my pre-op vision, and he spoke and listened to me,the patient, and genuinely seemed interested in knowing how "I was seeing at age 51". He explained the surgery and made me feel very comfortable - he built trust. Dr Weiss made this surgery painless both physically and emotionally! I can't thank him enough for such a great surgical experience and more importantly for the precise job in selecting my lenses! My eyesight is AWESOME! In this day and age of constant negative medical stories, I love writing this positive review! Sincerely, Michelle Slagle
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Review Ratings
Accurate Diagnosis
Courteous Staff
Ease of Appointment
Spends Time with Me
Would Recommend to Others?
Yes